Scientific Advisory Board


Carlos V. Paya, M.D., Ph.D. 

Chair, Scientific Advisory Board

Carlos Paya, M.D., Ph.D. is currently the Senior Advisor at Abingworth Ventures, Chair, Board of Directors at Fluidigm and Highlight Therapeutics since 2020 and Board member at BIO, Fluidigm and Mallinckrodt. Dr. Paya received his M.D. and Ph.D. from the University Complutense, Madrid, Spain. Followed by his post-doctoral training in viral immunology from Institute Pasteur, Paris, France.  U.S. Board certified in Internal Medicine & Infectious Diseases from the Mayo Graduate School, Rochester, MN. During his time at Mayo Medical School, Dr. Paya was the Professor of Medicine, Immunology, and Pathology. He made numerous scientific contributions to the fields of cell biology and viral immunology and to the clinical field of immune-comprised patients; supported by multiple NIH and industry grants. Elected to the American Society of Clinical Investigation and Editorial Boards of prestigious scientific journals, NIH study sections and Collaborative Groups. Author of over 200 peer-reviewed articles. Dr. Paya’s track record as senior executive in large-cap pharma, mid-cap and start-up biotech companies. During his 8 years at Immune Design, he was CEO and President, and member of the Board. Immune Design was acquired by Merck (May 2019).

Robert Abraham, Ph.D. 

Member, Scientific Advisory Board 

Robert Abraham, Ph.D., is currently the Chief Scientific Officer at Vividion Therapeutics. He is also an Adjunct Professor at the Sanford-Burnham-Prebys Medical Discovery Institute (SBPMDI) and Adjunct Professor in the Department of Pharmacology at the University of California-San Diego. Dr. Abraham received his B.S. from Bucknell University and his Ph.D. from the University of Pittsburgh. Followed by post-doctoral training in both Pharmacology and Immunology at the Mayo Clinic. Early in his career, Dr. Abraham had academic positions at the Mayo Clinic as a Professor in the Department of Immunology and the Department of Pharmacology, and also as Director of Basic Sciences in the Mayo Comprehensive Cancer Center. Followed by Duke University Medical Center, as a Professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology and also as Associate Director of Translational Research in the Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center. Next, Dr. Abraham was a Professor at SBPMDI, where he founded the Signal Transduction Research Program and served as the Director of the NCI-designated SBPMDI Cancer Research Center. Dr. Abraham then transitioned from academia to industry, as Vice President of Oncology Research at Wyeth Discovery Research and later as Senior Vice President and Group Head of the Oncology R&D Group in Pfizer Worldwide Research, Development and Medical. He also was the founding Director of the Pfizer Postdoctoral Research Program. Throughout his career, Dr. Abraham has received several awards for his scientific contributions, including the Legacy Laureate Award as an outstanding alumnus of the University of Pittsburgh. He is the author of over 225 scientific publications and has served on and chaired grant review panels at the National Institutes of Health.

Lawrence Fong, M.D. 

Member, Scientific Advisory Board 

Lawrence Fong, MD, is the Efim Guzik Distinguished Professor in Cancer Biology and leads the Cancer Immunotherapy Program at UCSF. He also co-directs the Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy at UCSF and co-leads the Cancer Immunology Program in the Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center. Dr Fong will serve as Co-Chair of Sutro’s Clinical Advisory Board and will also participate as a member of Sutro’s Scientific Advisory Board in his capacity as Co-Chair of the CAB.

Dr. Lawrence Fong is a medical oncologist who specializes in immunotherapy to care for cancer patients with an emphasis on genitourinary cancers (those involving the genital or urinary organs).

A physician-scientist, Dr. Fong studies new immunotherapies for cancer. He is internationally known for his work on multiple FDA-approved cancer immunotherapies including sipuleucel-T and immune checkpoint inhibitors. He has helped conduct numerous clinical trials and is the principal investigator on multiple research projects including those supported by the National Institutes of Health and private foundations. As the leader of UCSF’s Cancer Immunotherapy Program, he helps to develop new treatments through early-phase clinical trials of novel immunotherapies. His laboratory focuses on understanding why current treatments work in some patients but not others. Throughout his career, Dr. Fong has received several awards for his scientific contributions, including the National Cancer Institute’s Outstanding Investigator Award.

Dr. Fong earned his medical degree at Stanford University. He completed a residency in internal medicine at the University of Washington. He completed an oncology fellowship at Stanford Medicine.

Dr. Fong joined the UCSF faculty in 2001 and is the Efim Guzik Distinguished Professor in Cancer Biology. He has published more than 100 peer-reviewed scientific articles, numerous book chapters, and multiple patents. Dr. Fong has lectured nationally and internationally on cancer immunotherapy.

Stanley R. Frankel, M.D. 

Member, Scienftic Advisory Board 

Stanley R. Frankel MD is currently Chief Medical Officer at Cytovia Therapeutics and an Independent Director at Precision Biosciences.  Dr. Frankel received his M.D. from Northwestern University. His postgraduate training included residency in Internal Medicine at Mount Sinai Hospital in NY followed by a fellowship in Hematology and Oncology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, NY where he was Chief Fellow, Hematology. He is Board Certified in Internal Medicine, Hematology and Medical Oncology. Dr. Frankel had academic positions at Roswell Park Cancer Institute, Buffalo, NY, Georgetown University, Washington, DC, and the University of Maryland, Baltimore prior to moving to full time industry positions. He is currently adjunct Associate Professor of Medicine at the Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons at Columbia University, NY. Dr. Frankel was previously Senior Vice-President, Global Drug Development, Cell Therapy at Bristol Myers Squibb and Corporate Vice President, Immuno-Oncology at Celgene. He has had prior corporate experience in drug development at Genta, Merck, Roche, Micromet, and Amgen.